October 13, 2011

DOD Announces New Reserve Forces Policy Board Members

Secretary of Defense Leon E. Panetta today announced the following new members to the Reserve Forces Policy Board (RFPB): Retired Vice Adm. John G. Cotton, former chief of Navy Reserve; Grier Martin, a member of the North Carolina General Assembly; Paulette M. Mason, Delaware chair, Employer Support of the Guard and Reserve; John Nagl, president of the Center for a New American Security;  Sergio A. Pecori, president & chief executive officer of Hanson Professional Services Inc.;  Maj. Gen. Glenn K. Rieth, adjutant general of New Jersey; Gary E. (Gene) Taylor, former U.S. representative; Retired Maj. Gen. Leo V. Williams III, former deputy commanding general, Marine Corps Combat Development Command; Maria J. Vorel, disaster operations coordinator, Federal Emergency Management Agency; retired Gen. John W. Handy, former commander of U.S. Transportation Command and Air Mobility Command.

These members join the following current members: Retired Maj Gen Arnold L. Punaro, chairman; Rear Adm. Steven E. Day; Maj. Gen. H. Michael Edwards; Maj. Gen. Anita R. Gallentine; Brig. Gen. James M. Lariviere; Maj. Gen. James N. Stewart (non-voting); Maj. Gen. Jeffrey W. Talley; and Maj. Gen. R. Martin Umbarger.

First established in 1951, the RFPB serves as an independent adviser to provide advice and recommendations directly to the secretary of defense on strategies, policies, and practices designed to improve and enhance the capabilities, efficiency, and effectiveness of the reserve components.  The board was restructured by the National Defense Authorization Act of 2011 with a revised membership and operating framework. The revised law now provides for membership by experts from outside the DoD.  Today’s appointment of new members is consistent with the modified law.

For more information call 703-697-4486 or visit the official RFPB website at http://ra.defense.gov/rfpb/ .