August 17, 2011

CFR Announces 2011 Arthur Ross Book Award Nominees

The Council on Foreign Relations has announced the shortlisted nominees for the tenth Arthur Ross Book Award. CFR’s annual award honors the best international affairs books published in the previous two years.

The 2011 award consists of a $15,000 first prize, a $7,500 second prize, and a $2,500 honorable mention. The winners will be announced in late August and honored at an event at CFR’s headquarters in New York in the fall.

The nominees include:

•Thomas Hegghammer for Jihad in Saudi Arabia: Violence and Pan-Islamism since 1979 (Cambridge University Press)

•Robert Jervis for Why Intelligence Fails: Lessons from the Iranian Revolution and the Iraq War (Cornell University Press)

•Robert D. Kaplan for Monsoon: The Indian Ocean and the Future of American Power (Random House)

•Charles A. Kupchan for How Enemies Become Friends: The Sources of Stable Peace (Princeton University Press)

•Carmen M. Reinhart and Kenneth S. Rogoff for This Time is Different: Eight Centuries of Financial Folly (Princeton University Press)

Among the nominees are three think tankers: Kaplan (Center for a New American Security), Kupchan (Council on Foreign Relations) and Reinhart (Peterson Institute for International Economics).

The award jury includes: Stanley Hoffmann, Harvard University; James F. Hoge Jr., CFR; Robert W. Kagan, The Brookings Institution; Miles Kahler, University of California, San Diego; Mary Elise Sarotte, University of Southern California; Stephen M. Walt, Harvard University.