The Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Leaders Fellowship

Every year, the Center for a New American Security selects a bipartisan group of 20-25 emerging national security leaders between the ages of 27 to 35 to participate in the Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Leaders Program. In June 2018, CNAS named the program in honor of Shawn Brimley, one of the founding members of CNAS, for his incredible contributions to the Center and the national security community overall. Shawn truly exemplified the ethos and mission of the program.

This year-long, part-time professional development fellowship aims to bring together young professionals across sectors within the national security field to learn best practices and lessons in leadership. Brimley Next Gen fellows will have the opportunity to engage with thought leaders on leadership principles and national security through various engagements, including a monthly dinner series. Past speakers include Secretary Madeleine Albright, General Stanley McChrystal, Lt Gen Jim Clapper, Senator Kelly Ayotte, and Admiral Mike Mullen.

Brimley Next Gen fellows will also have the opportunity to contribute to research projects with CNAS experts and will be invited to participate in small, invitation-only meetings the Center hosts throughout the year. The program culminates in a week-long international study tour to delve deeper into national security issues and leadership.

There is no cost to participate in the program, though individuals are responsible for the cost of travel to CNAS for dinners and events. Unless otherwise stated, all events will take place at CNAS in Washington. Other frequently asked questions about the program and application cycle can be found here.

Applicants for the 2020 class are now closed.

CNAS thanks Lockheed Martin and the American Express Foundation for its generous support of the program.

Current and Past Next Generation National Security Fellows

Next Gen Class of 2016

Next Gen Class of 2015

Next Gen Class of 2014

Next Gen Class of 2012-2013

Next Gen Class of 2011-2012

Next Gen Class of 2010-2011

Next Gen Class of 2009-2010