February 11, 2014

CNAS Announces 2014 Next Generation National Security Leaders

Washington, February 11, 2014 -- The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) is pleased to announce the selection of the 2014 Next Generation National Security Leaders.  CNAS has selected 18 of the best and brightest emerging national security leaders to participate in the 2014 program.  These 18 exceptional individuals have diverse backgrounds within the national security community, including Capitol Hill, U.S. government, U.S. military, media, think tanks and the private sector.
LTG David W. Barno, USA (Ret.), Senior Fellow and Co-Director of the Responsible Defense Program, CNAS; Dr. Nora Bensahel, Senior Fellow and Co-Director of the Responsible Defense Program, CNAS; and Robert Rangel, Vice President, Programs and Policy, Washington Operations, Lockheed Martin will lead the 2014 Next Generation class. Throughout the year, the class will engage with influential figures in the national security field through a series of candid discussions on several of the most significant issues facing the country today.
“This program directly contributes to the CNAS mission of fostering the next generation of national security leaders,” David Barno and Nora Bensahel said.  “We are excited to work with these outstanding young professionals during the next year.” Robert Rangel added, "In this era of increasing policy complexity, it is gratifying to see the degree of interest and commitment to the development by such a qualified group of future leaders."

The complete list of 2014 Next Generation National Security Leaders is posted below.  Their full biographies are also available on our website athttp://www.cnas.org/nextgeneration2014/participants.

2014 Next Generation National Security Leaders:

Ryan Crumpler
Professional Staff Member, House Armed Services Committee

Lieutenant Commander Taylor Dewey, USNR
Special Assistant to the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, State Department

Justin Deyo
M.A. Candidate in Security Studies, Georgetown University

Jeffrey Dressler
Professional Staff Member, House Committee on Foreign Affairs

Ryan Evans
Assistant Director, Center for the National Interest

Jared Jonker
Forward Deployed Engineer/Business Development, Palantir Technologies

Captain Tyler Jost, USA
Company Commander

Jennifer Knowles
Research Analyst, Military Compensation and Retirement Modernization Commission

Captain Miriam Krieger, USAF
CSAF Ph.D. Fellow, Georgetown University

Dr. Melissa McAdam
Research Analyst, Center for Naval Analyses

Lieutenant Jeff McLean, USN
Naval Aviator/Test Pilot

Sean Misko
Policy Planning Staff, State Department

Mira Rapp-Hooper
Stanton Nuclear Security Fellow, Council on Foreign Relations and Ph.D. Candidate, Columbia University

Abbas Ravjani
Attorney-Advisor, State Department

William Rich
Policy Advisor for the Arabian Peninsula and North Africa, Treasury Department

Captain Lindsay Rodman, USMC
Deputy Legal Counsel, Joint Staff

Paul Shinkman
National Security Correspondent, U.S. News and World Report

Captain Katelyn van Dam, USMC
Instructor, The Basic School

Media Contacts:

Liz Fontaine
Acting Director of External Relations
and Creative Director
(202) 457-9423

JaRel Clay
Communications Associate
(202) 457-9410