Image credit: Melody Cook/CNAS

August 19, 2021

CNAS Announces New Leaders and Members of AI Task Force

Washington, August 19, 2021—The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) is pleased to announce new leaders and members of the Task Force on Artificial Intelligence and National Security. The AI Task Force, composed of former senior government officials, private industry leaders, and academic experts, examines how the United States should respond to the national security challenges artificial intelligence poses.

Hon. Sarah Sewall, Executive Vice President for Policy at IQT, joins Hon. Robert O. Work as co-chair of the AI Task Force.

Martijn Rasser, Senior Fellow and Director of the Technology and National Security Program at CNAS, is named executive director of the task force.

New members include AI researchers, former senior-level officials, and leading industry experts. They are:

  • Kapil Bakshi, Distinguished Engineer, U.S. Public CTO Office, Cisco
  • Dr. Miles Brundage, Head of Policy Research, OpenAI
  • Dr. Mung Chiang, Founding Director, Center for Tech Diplomacy at Purdue; Executive Vice President, Purdue University; John A. Edwardson Dean, College of Engineering
  • Dr. Charina Chou, Global Policy Lead for Emerging Technologies, Google
  • Dr. José-Marie Griffiths, President, Dakota State University
  • Jennifer Hay, National Security Programs Senior Director, DataRobot
  • Dr. Dewey Murdick, Director, Center for Security and Emerging Technology (CSET)
  • Dr. Lisa Porter, Co-President, LogiQ
  • Lt Gen Jack Shanahan, USAF (Ret.), Graduate Student, North Carolina State University

The AI Task Force is a component of CNAS' multi-year Artificial Intelligence and Global Security Initiative. More information can be found on the CNAS AI Task Force webpage. An updated list of AI Task Force members is below:

Hon. Robert O. Work, Center for a New American Security
Hon. Sarah Sewall, IQT

Executive Director
Martijn Rasser, Center for a New American Security

Kapil Bakshi, Cisco
Dr. Miles Brundage, OpenAI
Keith Catanzano, Deloitte
Dr. Mung Chiang, Purdue University
Dr. Charina Chou, Google
Dr. Charles Clancy, The MITRE Corporation
Jack Clark, Stanford University
Dr. Rebecca Crootof, University of Richmond
Jessica Cussins Newman, Future of Life Institute
Steven Escaravage, Booz Allen
Dr. Ed Felten, Princeton University
Dr. Kathleen Fisher, Tufts University
Hon. Michèle Flournoy, WestExec Advisors
Dr. José-Marie Griffiths, Dakota State University
Jennifer Hay, DataRobot
Christopher Heinz, CNAS Board of Advisors
Dr. Michael Horowitz, University of Pennsylvania
Tim Hwang, Center for Security and Emerging Technology
Jamil N. Jaffer, George Mason University
Ron Keesing, Leidos
Dr. Patrick Lin, Cal Poly
Steven Mills, Boston Consulting Group
Dr. Dewey Murdick, Center for Security and Emerging Technology
Walter F. Parkes, Dreamscape Immersive
Dr. Lisa Porter, LogiQ
Todd M. Rosenblum, National Security Outcomes, LLC
Dr. Thomas Sandholm, Carnegie Mellon University
Dr. Paul Scharre, Center for a New American Security
Dr. Larry C. Schuette, Lockheed Martin Corporation
Lt Gen Jack Shanahan, USAF (Ret.), North Carolina State University
Dr. Josh Sullivan, Booz Allen

Research Team
Elsa B. Kania, Center for a New American Security
Dr. Rita Konaev, Center for a New American Security
Brendan McCord, Center for a New American Security

For more information or to schedule an interview, please contact Sydney Simon at