August 01, 2019

The CNAS Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Leaders Fellowship is Accepting Applications for the 2020 Class

Washington, August 1, 2019 – The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) announced today that it is accepting applications for the 2020 class of the Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Leaders Fellowship.

Every year, CNAS selects a bipartisan group of 20–25 emerging national security leaders between the ages of 27 and 35 to participate in the program. In June 2018, CNAS renamed the fellowship in honor of the late Shawn Brimley, one of the founding members of CNAS, for his incredible contributions to the Center and the broader national security community.

The year-long, part-time fellowship aims to bring together young professionals across sectors within the national security field to learn best practices and lessons in leadership. Brimley Next Gen Fellows will have the opportunity to engage with key voices on national security and leadership principles through various engagements, including a monthly dinner series. Fellows will have the opportunity to participate in collaborative research projects with CNAS experts; take part in small, invitation-only meetings with current and former national security officials; and be part of a week-long, exclusive international study tour.

“Developing the next generation of national security leaders has been an essential part of the Center’s mission since its founding,” said Michèle Flournoy, co-chair of the Brimley Next Gen program. “We fully expect that many members of this fellowship’s 2020 class will help build the future of U.S. national security policy, and we’re proud to play a role in the professional growth of such impressive young leaders.”

“For years, the fellowship program has prepared talented, emerging national security professionals for bright futures in the field,” said Robert Rangel, co-chair of the Brimley Next Gen program. “The new Next Gen class can look forward to a series of remarkable learning experiences that will both broaden and deepen their perspectives as national security leaders.”

Previous classes have traveled to Asia and the Middle East and have taken part in leadership roundtable dinners with former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, General Stanley McChrystal, Denis McDonough, and Josh Bolten, among many other former and current national security leaders. Emerging U.S. national security leaders with a minimum of four years’ experiences in the national security field are eligible for the program. CNAS will accept applications until 11:59pm on October 13, 2019.

Applicants can apply here:

For more information about the program and application process, please visit:

For questions concerning the program, please contact


  • Hannah Suh

    Former Chief of Staff & Director, NextGen National Security Leaders Program

    Hannah Suh is the former Chief of Staff and Director of the Next Generation National Security Leaders Program at the Center for a New American Security (CNAS). Previously, s...

  • Chris Estep

    Former Communications Officer

    Chris Estep is a former Communications Officer at the Center for a New American Security (CNAS), where he coordinated the Center’s digital engagement and congressional relatio...