June 20, 2017

CNAS Launches Future of U.S. Sanctions Task Force

The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) Energy, Economics, and Security Program today announced the launch of the Future of U.S. Sanctions Task Force. The Task Force will convene a select group of sanctions and foreign policy experts and business leaders to discuss pressing U.S. sanctions issues. The Task Force will generate ideas to support the crafting and implementation of future U.S. sanctions in a series of off-the-record meetings over the next 18 months. Task Force members will also publish commentaries and reports with recommendations for the U.S. administration and Congress.

Ambassador Paula Dobriansky and Adam Szubin will serve as Co-Chairs of the Task Force. CNAS Energy, Economics, and Security Program Director Elizabeth Rosenberg and CNAS Adjunct Senior Fellow Peter Harrell will coordinate the group.

The members of the Task Force include:

Ambassador Paula J. Dobriansky
Distinguished Task Force Co-Chair
Senior Fellow, "The Future of Diplomacy Project"
Harvard University, JFK Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs

Adam Szubin
Distinguished Task Force Co-Chair
Distinguished Practitioner-in-Residence
Johns Hopkins, School of Advanced International Studies

Peter Harrell
Task Force Coordinator
Adjunct Senior Fellow, Energy, Economics, and Security Program
Center for a New American Security

Elizabeth Rosenberg
Task Force Coordinator
Senior Fellow and Director, Energy, Economics, and Security Program
Center for a New American Security

The Honorable Howard Berman
Senior Advisor
Covington & Burling LLP

The Honorable Karan Bhatia
Vice President & Senior Counsel
General Electric

The Honorable F. Amanda DeBusk
Hughes Hubbard & Reed

Dr. Daniel Drezner
Professor of International Politics,
The Fletcher School
Tufts University

Mark Dubowitz
Chief Executive Officer
Foundation for Defense of Democracies

Patricia Dudley
Acting Head of Compliance
Airbus - North America

The Honorable Sue Eckert
Adjunct Senior Fellow, Energy, Economics, and Security Program
Center for a New American Security

Kim Ann Elliott
Visiting Fellow
Center for Global Development

The Honorable Michèle Flournoy
Co-Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Center for a New American Security

Richard Fontaine
Center for a New American Security

The Honorable David Goldwyn
Goldwyn Global Strategies, LLC

Brian Grant
Director, Global Sanctions and AB&C Compliance

The Honorable Theodore Kassinger
O'Melveny & Myers, LLP

Dr. George A. Lopez
Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh, C.S.C., Professor Emeritus of Peace Studies
Kroc Institute for International Peace Studies, University of Notre Dame

The Honorable Tomasz Malinowski
Former Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights, and Labor
U.S. Department of State

Richard Nephew
Senior Research Scholar, Center on Global Energy Policy,
School of International and
Public Affairs
Columbia University

Dr. Meghan O'Sullivan
Jeane Kirkpatrick Professor of the Practice of International Affairs
Harvard Kennedy School

Morgan Ortagus
Global Executive Director
Ernst & Young

John Prendergast
Founding Director
Enough Project

The Honorable Stephen Rademaker
Podesta Group

Frederick Reynolds
Global Head, Financial Crime

Jeffrey Schott
Senior Fellow
Peterson Institute for International Economics

Daleep Singh
Nonresident Senior Fellow, Global Business and Economics
Atlantic Council

Adam Smith
Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Julianne Smith
Senior Fellow and Program Director, Transatlantic Security Program
Center for a New American Security

David Stetson
Senior Compliance Officer, Financial Crime Compliance
Goldman Sachs & Co. LLC

Jay Thompson
Manager, International
Government Affairs

Sean M. Thornton
Managing Director & Head of Legal Financial Security (US)
BNP Paribas

Robert Werner
Chief Executive Officer
Green River Hollow Consulting

The Honorable Juan C. Zarate
Chairman and Co-Founder
Financial Integrity Network

Rachel Ziemba
Managing Director, Emerging Markets Research

For more information, please contact Neal Urwitz at nurwitz@cnas.org or call