Image credit: CNAS

January 11, 2018

CNAS Announces 2018 Next Generation National Security Fellows

Washington, January 11 – The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) announced today the selection of the 2018 Next Generation National Security Leaders. Now in its ninth year, the Next Generation National Security Leaders Fellowship is a fundamental component of CNAS’ commitment to ensuring the United States has talented individuals dedicated to preserving and maintaining its national security. After a highly competitive process with over 280 applications, CNAS selected a bipartisan group of 23 emerging leaders from a host of fields. This year’s fellows include members of the military; professionals with the Department of Defense, Department of State, and the White House; congressional staffers; industry practitioners; journalists; think tank experts; and specialists from the NGO community.

“For many years, CNAS has selected some of the most talented young leaders for its Next Generation National Security Leaders Fellowship, and the 2018 class more than continues the trend,” said Michèle Flournoy, a member of the CNAS Board of Directors, who will co-chair the program along with Robert Rangel, Lockheed Martin’s Senior Vice President, Government Affairs. “This year’s fellows bring a remarkable diversity and in-depth knowledge and experience, and each one has a true commitment to public service. CNAS is proud to continue its tradition of preparing the next generation of national security leaders.”

Through this leadership development program and its monthly dinner series and small private discussions, CNAS Next Generation Fellows will engage with those who have led before them, developing a deeper understanding of U.S. national security interests and policies, as well as leadership principles and best practices. Previous classes have met with former Director of National Intelligence Lt. Gen. James Clapper, Deputy National Security Advisor Dina Powell, Fox News Sunday anchor Chris Wallace, former Senator Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), former White House Chiefs of Staff Josh Bolten and Denis McDonough, Gen. Stanley McChrystal, and many others. Fellows will also collaborate with CNAS experts and their colleagues on a variety of projects and participate in CNAS events. Last year’s class had the opportunity to take part in two leadership retreats and went on a week-long international study tour. Upon completion of the fellowship, this year’s class will remain connected to the Center through the CNAS alumni program.

“It is an honor and a pleasure to have the opportunity to work with such accomplished young men and women each year,” said Rangel. “This class of Next Generation National Security Fellows have already excelled in their own fields. They have proven leadership ability. Most importantly, they care deeply about the future of U.S. national security. I welcome the opportunity to engage with them through this program and make an investment in their development as national security leaders.”

The complete list of the 2018 Next Generation National Security Fellows is posted below. Their full biographies are also available here.

CNAS 2017 Next Generation National Security Fellows

  • Nicole Alexander, Company Commander, U.S. Army Civil Affairs; Co-Founder, PROMOTE
  • Brandeanna Allen, Operations Research Analyst, U.S. Department of Defense, Office of the Undersecretary of Defense, CAPE
  • Ally Bain, Program Examiner, White House Office of Management and Budget
  • Ben Bain, Senior Advisor for Innovation, U.S. Department of Defense
  • Thomas Barron, Detachment Commander, U.S. Army
  • Thomas Brennan, Founder and Publisher, The War Horse
  • Ben Buchanan, Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University
  • Courtney Cooper, International Affairs Fellow, Council of Foreign Relations
  • Nadia Farra, Syria Desk Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Chelsea Goldstein, Country Director for Pakistan, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
  • Andrew Imbrie, Fellow and Senior Advisor, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
  • Michael MacKay, Congressional Fellow, U.S. Marine Corps
  • Will Quinn, Professional Staff Member, U.S. Senate Committee on Armed Services
  • Alberto Ramos, Flag Aide to Superintendent of the U.S. Naval Academy, U.S. Navy
  • Kingston Reif, Director for Disarmament and Threat Reduction Policy, Arms Control Association
  • Matthew Reilly, Branch Chief, U.S. Air Force
  • Scott Roffman, Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Lauren Schmidt, Senior Director, Pathways, Defense Innovation Unit Experimental
  • Brooke Stedman, Deputy Director, Women in International Security
  • William Treseder, Partner, BMNT
  • Jonathan Ward, Founder, Atlas Organization
  • Lesley Warner, Professional Staff Member, U.S. House Committee on Foreign Affairs
  • Stephen Winchell, Presidential Innovation Fellow, Intelligence Advance Research Projects Activity

CNAS would like to thank its partners Lockheed Martin and the American Express Foundation for their generous support of the program.

For questions concerning the fellowship, please contact