February 01, 2024

CNAS Announces 2024 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows

The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) announced today the selection of the 2024 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows. Now in its 15th year, the NextGen Program is a fundamental component of CNAS’s commitment to ensuring the United States develops a diverse cadre of talented individuals dedicated to preserving and strengthening its national security. After a highly competitive process, CNAS selected a bipartisan group of 24 emerging leaders from multiple sectors. This year’s fellows include members of the military; government professionals, including from the Department of Defense, the Department of State, and Congress; individuals from the private and nonprofit sectors; and think tank experts.

“Each year, I am impressed by the remarkable quality and stories of the applicants. We're excited to have chosen such a talented and diverse array of talent in the 2024 cohort,” said Michèle Flournoy, CNAS Co-Founder and Chair of the Board, who will co-chair the program along with Jared Cohen, Co-Head of the Office of Applied Innovation and President of Global Affairs at Goldman Sachs. “If you look around the world, you'll see why we need the Shawn Brimley Fellowship now more than ever,” added Cohen. “In Europe, the Middle East, and the Indo-Pacific, democracies are facing serious threats. The graduates of this program leave with the knowledge and networks they need to face those challenges head on and lead.”

Through this leadership development program and its monthly speaker series and small private discussions, the NextGen Fellows will engage with those who have led before them, developing a deeper understanding of U.S. national security interests and policies, as well as leadership principles and best practices. Previous classes have met with former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, Secretary of the Army Christine Wormuth, former Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson, former National Security Advisor Susan Rice, former White House Chiefs of Staff Josh Bolten and Denis McDonough, Ambassador Nate Fick, General Stanley McChrystal, Admiral Cecil Haney, Ambassador Bonnie Jenkins, Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Congressman Mike Gallagher (R-WI), and many others. Fellows will also collaborate with CNAS experts and participate in events. Upon completion of the program, fellows remain connected to the Center through the CNAS alumni program.

The complete list of the 2024 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows is below. Their full biographies are available here.

CNAS 2024 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows:

  • Hadeil Ali, Director & Fellow, Diversity and Leadership in International Affairs Project, Center for Strategic and International Studies
  • Kate Baldwin, Director, Growth Partnerships, In-Q-Tel (IQT)
  • Derek Bernsen, SETA, Defense Advancement Research Projects Agency
  • Megan Biles, Major, United States Air Force
  • Brian Bumpas, Manager & Technical Expert, Media Manipulation Monitor (M3) Team, Two Six Technologies
  • Edward Chao, Cyber Operational Planner, Cybersecurity and Infrastructure Security Agency
  • Anthony Cho, Senior Advisor to the Assistant Secretary, U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Molly Cole, Senior National Security Advisor, Senator Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
  • Samantha Daniels, Director of Operations, The War Horse News
  • Keeley Erhardt, Graduate Research Assistant, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Hermes Grullon, Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Benjamin Jebb, Major, United States Army
  • Charles Jordan, Captain, United States Marine Corps
  • Amy Kramer, Country Director for Thailand, Office of the Under Secretary of Defense for Policy, U.S. Department of Defense
  • José Machuca, Major, United States Air Force
  • Daniel McGurkin, Captain, United States Marine Corps
  • Rashad Nimr, Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Agency for International Development
  • Israa Nour, Policy Analyst, Open Society Foundations
  • Daniel Oates, Global Technology Policy Advisor and Multilateral Engagement Team Lead, U.S. Department of State
  • Christopher Ramos, Chief of Staff for Cyber, Infrastructure, Risk, and Resilience Policy, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
  • Artem Sherbinin, Lieutenant, United States Navy
  • Jennifer January Therrien, Foreign Affairs Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Shannon Vavra, National Security Reporter, The Daily Beast
  • Kateryna Volkovska, Senior Advisor for Autonomy, Chief Digital and AI Office, U.S. Department of Defense

CNAS would like to thank its partner, Goldman Sachs, for their generous support of the program.

Next Gen Class of 2024

Every year, the Center for a New American Security selects a bipartisan group of 20-25 emerging national security leaders between the ages of 27 to 35 to participate in the Sh...

Read More