October 04, 2010

CNAS Announces Next Generation National Security Leaders Class of 2010-2011

Washington, D.C., October 4, 2010 - The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) is proud to announce the Next Generation National Security Leaders class of 2010-2011. These 16 emerging leaders have diverse backgrounds and experience in government and the U.S. military, on Capitol Hill, in academia and in the private sector. 

The CNAS Next Generation National Security Leaders program was launched as a reflection of our mission to foster bipartisanship and develop a shared understanding of the nation's security interests and international priorities. Building on the success of last year's program, John Nagl, CNAS President, and Steve Biegun, Ford Motor Company's Vice President of International Governmental Affairs and member of the CNAS Board of Advisors, will lead a series of discussions on topics including: Afghanistan; Natural Security; U.S. relationships with India and key countries in East Asia; economics and national security; and more. Through the program, the Next Generation Leaders will also engage with influential policymakers and contribute to collaborative writing projects.
"By bringing together some of the best and brightest young leaders from across the national security field, this program helps foster bipartisanship and public-private collaboration at the grassroots level, both of which are required to meet the challenges of today and tomorrow," said CNAS CEO Nathaniel Fick. President John Nagl concurred, saying, "We look forward to working with these extraordinary individuals as we continue our mission of promoting sound U.S. national security policies."
Find out more about the Next Generation National Security Leaders program and the 2010-2011 class here.
2010-2011 Next Generation National Security Leaders:
Major Joseph Bruhl, USA
Strategic Planner, Security Cooperation Plans and Concepts Division, U.S. Army
Major Jason Camilletti, USAF
Assistant Director of Joint Officer Management
Undersecretary of Defense for Personnel
Michael Clauser
National Security Legislative Assistant, U.S. Representative Mac Thornberry
Captain Michael Gallagher, USMC
Fellow, Marine Corps’ Junior Officer Strategic Intelligence Program
Lieutenant Kristopher Ensley, USCG
Coast Guard Fellow, House Committee on Homeland Security
Marie Harf
Media Spokesperson, Central Intelligence Agency
Whitney Kassel
Assistant for Counterterrorism Policy
Office of the Assistant Secretary of Defense for Special Operations
Andrew Kim
Foreign Affairs Officer, U.S. Department of State
Oriana Skylar Mastro
Visiting Scholar at the Center for Security and Conflict Studies
George Washington University
Lieutenant Robert McFall, USN
Watch Officer, White House Military Office
Noëlle Miliard
Program Coordinator for Space Activities, EADS North America
Ha Nguyen
Director of the Asia/Pacific Portfolio, Science and Technology Directorate
U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Alex Pascal
Executive Assistant to the National Security Advisor, National Security Staff

Natalie Quillian
Special Assistant, Principal Deputy Under Secretary of Defense for Policy
Drew Sloan
Associate, Manifest Energy
Halie Soifer
Foreign Policy and Defense Advisor, U.S. Senator Ted Kaufman