Image credit: CNAS

Back to All Events

CNAS 10th Anniversary Celebration

Dec 6, 2016
6:00pm to 9:00pm

Andrew Mellon Auditorium
Washington, DC

On December 6, 2016, the Center for a New American Security celebrated its 10th anniversary at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium. Chuck Todd, moderator of NBC's Meet The Press, hosted the celebration.

A Toast to CNAS

CNAS Board Member Mike Zak leads a toast to CNAS with Board of Directors and Board of Advisors.

Washington Chorus

The Washington Chorus sings a "Happy Birthday" tribute and "Waitin' for the Light" by Sally K. Albrecht, a favorite of Lee Perry, Dr. Perry's wife.

Sec. William Perry Honored with the CNAS Distinguished National Security Leadership Award

Dr. William J. Perry has been integral to the founding and continued success of the Center for a New American Security. In his support of CNAS, Dr. Perry has exhibited the same courage, tenacity and generosity that has characterized a lifetime of service to our nation. This award honors his invaluable contributions to the Center and to America's national security. 

Back in 2007, CNAS opened its doors with a vision – that as a think tank we would take on the toughest and most consequential national security issues, even if those very issues were highly controversial. We also envisioned an organization that revolved around service – putting a special emphasis on fostering young leaders to publish and find their voices in the national security debate. This has been part of CNAS' DNA from day one, and we are humbled to see that this vision has catapulted us to becoming Washington’s “go to” think tank on national security.

As CNAS goes from strength to strength, we look forward to continue our mission of incubating the ideas and the talent that will enable the United States to address the myriad national security challenges before us. 

Event Photos

CNAS 10th Anniversary Celebration

CNAS thanks its dinner chairs, Hon. David McCormick, James Murdoch, and Hon. Thomas Nides for making the special evening possible. CNAS also thanks the 10th Anniversary Celebration Host Committee: Sec. Madeleine Albright, Hon. Richard Armitage, Hon. Richard Danzig, Gen. Martin Dempsey (Ret.), Sec. Robert Gates, Hon. Stephen Hadley, Sec. Leon Panetta, Gen. Colin Powell (Ret.), Sec. Condoleezza Rice, and Sen. John Warner (R-VA).

Watch the Full Event
Map showing event location
Andrew Mellon Auditorium
1301 Constitution Ave NW
Washington, DC 20240