February 09, 2015

Center for a New American Security Announces 2015 Next Generation National Security Leaders


Washington, February 9 – The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) today announced the selection of its 2015 Next Generation Security Leaders. As part of CNAS' commitment to fostering future national security leaders, it has selected 20 emerging leaders from a wide array of backgrounds, including Capitol Hill, the executive branch, the military, think tanks and the private sector.
“I am proud of this year’s class, and am confident they will achieve great things,” said CNAS Chief Executive Officer Michèle Flournoy, who will co-lead the program along with Robert Rangel, Lockheed Martin’s Senior Vice President for Washington Operations. “CNAS looks forward to working with these emerging leaders to give them insight into how the national security apparatus works and leadership lessons learned and best practices.”
As part of the Next Generation National Security Leaders program, the 2015 class will engage with influential figures in the national security field through a series of candid discussions on issues across the spectrum. The program lasts throughout the year. The program will begin with a reception in late February.
“I look forward to working with these outstanding young professionals over the next year,” said Rangel. “They have already proven they are talented, intelligent, and dedicated to helping shape the future of the U.S. I welcome the opportunity to help develop this promising group of future leaders.”
The complete list of 2015 Next Generation National Security Leaders is posted below.

2015 Next Generation National Security Leaders
Patrick Barry, Department of Homeland Security
Colin Carroll, United States Marine Corps
Scott Cheney-Peters, OPNAV
Erin Clancy, United States Department of State
David Cruz-Glaudemans, Office of Management and Budget
Rush Doshi, Harvard University
Anne Dreazen, United States Department of Defense
Naz Durakoglu, U.S. House of Representatives
Jessica El-Hosni Pedersen, Lockheed Martin
Vito Errico, United States Army
Rachel Hoff, American Action Forum
Brian Kirk, United States Navy
Eric Lorber, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP
Elizabeth Louis, United States Air Force
Julia Macdonald, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Joshua Marcuse, United States Department of Defense- OSD Policy
Michael McBride, Booz Allen Hamilton
William Negley, Central Intelligence Agency
Ashwin Rajaram, Promontory Financial Group
Brandon Willitts, First Data