February 11, 2021

CNAS Announces 2021 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows

Washington, February 11, 2021—The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) today announced the selection of the 2021 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows. Now in its 12th year, the Next Gen Program is a fundamental component of CNAS’ commitment to ensuring the United States develops a diverse cadre of talented individuals dedicated to preserving and strengthening its national security. After a highly competitive process with nearly 300 applicants, CNAS selected a bipartisan group of 26 emerging leaders from multiple sectors. This year’s fellows include members of the military; government professionals, including from the Department of Defense and the Department of State; congressional researchers; individuals from the private and non-profit sectors; journalists; and think tank experts.

“The variety of experiences and diverse perspectives this cohort will provide is unparalleled,” said Michèle Flournoy, CNAS Co-Founder and Board member, who will co-chair the program along with Robert Rangel, Lockheed Martin’s Senior Vice President of Government Affairs. “I look forward to engaging with these remarkable fellows and helping them grow as leaders. I am proud to co-chair a program dedicated to promoting diversity in the field and developing future national security leaders.”

Through this leadership development program and its monthly speaker series and small private discussions, the Next Gen Fellows will engage with those who have led before them, developing a deeper understanding of U.S. national security interests and policies, as well as leadership principles and best practices. Previous classes have met with former Secretary of State Madeleine Albright, former National Security Advisor Susan Rice, former White House Chiefs of Staff Josh Bolten and Denis McDonough, General Stanley McChrystal, Admiral Mike Mullen, Ambassador Bonnie Jenkins, Congressman Mike Gallagher (R-WI), and many others. Fellows will also collaborate with CNAS experts and participate in CNAS events. Last year’s class had the opportunity to take part in a professional leadership development course. Upon completion of the program, fellows remain connected to the Center through the CNAS alumni program.

“I am delighted to welcome this extraordinary group of future leaders,” said Rangel. “Dedicated and proven leaders in their fields, the 2021 Next Gen fellows have already accomplished a great deal. I look forward to working with them in the months ahead to build on their experience and enhance their growth.”

The complete list of the 2021 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows is below. Their full biographies are available here.

CNAS 2021 Shawn Brimley Next Generation National Security Fellows:

  • Kirsten Asdal, Surface Warfare Officer, U.S. Navy
  • Laura Bate, Senior Director, U.S. Cyberspace Solarium Commission
  • Annika Betancourt, Deputy Director of Andean Affairs and Peru Desk Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Annalise Blum, AAAS Science and Technology Policy Fellow, U.S. Department of Defense
  • Sarah Broadbent, Officer, U.S. Air Force
  • Denise Der, Assistant Research Director, U.S. Department of Defense
  • Tyler Duke, Manager of International Intelligence Programs, Starbucks Coffee Company
  • Elle Ekman, Logistics Officer, U.S. Marine Corps
  • Wren Elhai, Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Cori Fleser, National Security Policy Analyst, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Mycal Ford, Analyst, U.S. Department of the Treasury
  • Imani Franklin, Justice Fellow, Loevy & Loevy
  • Michael Garcia, Senior Policy Advisor, Third Way
  • Erringer Helbling, Director of Operations, HawkEye 360
  • Casey Mahoney, Ph.D. Candidate for Political Science, University of Pennsylvania
  • Emil Maine, Mobility Air Forces and Special Operations Planner and Programmer, U.S. Air Force
  • Adam Miller, Special Victims’ Counsel, U.S. Coast Guard
  • Julissa Milligan Walsh, Counselor to the Chairman, Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board
  • Michael Patterson, Lead Scientist, Quantitative Scientific Solutions
  • Alicia Romano, Foreign Affairs Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Kirt Smith, Research Assistant for Asia Section, Congressional Research Service
  • Rachel Thomas, Senior Military Advisor for Women, Peace and Security, U.S. Department of State
  • Thao Anh Tran, Foreign Service Officer, U.S. Department of State
  • Loren Voss, Senior Advisor for Civilian Harm Mitigation, Defense Security Cooperation Agency
  • Samuel Wilkins, Major, U.S. Army
  • Stacie Williams, Vice President and Producer for the Deep State Radio Podcast Network, The Rothkopf Group

CNAS would like to thank its partners, the American Express Foundation and Lockheed Martin, for their generous support of the program.

For questions concerning the fellowship, please contact nextgeneration@cnas.org.