July 02, 2009

John Nagl and Robert Kaplan Named Members of Defense Policy Board

Washington, D.C., June 30, 2009 - The Center for a New American Security (CNAS) is pleased to announce that its President, Dr. John Nagl, and Senior Fellow, Robert Kaplan, have been named members of the Defense Policy Board (DPB) by Secretary of Defense Robert Gates.  Nagl and Kaplan join a distinguished group of experts, including CNAS' founding Chairman William Perry, current CNAS Chairman Richard Danzig, and members of the CNAS Board of Advisors Wendy Sherman and Sarah Sewall.

“I am extremely proud that John, a veteran of the Iraq war, and Bob, renowned for his writing on emerging and future threats, have been named to this important advisory board,” said Nate Fick, CNAS' recently appointed Chief Executive Officer. “Together, they bring both wisdom and decades of national security experience to the challenge of protecting and strengthening our nation.”

Nagl and Kaplan will join the following current and returning DPB members: Harold Brown; Adm. (Ret) Vern Clark; J.D. Crouch; Richard Danzig; Rudy deLeon; Robert Gallucci; Chuck Hagel; John Hamre; Fred Ikle; Gen. (Ret) Jack Keane; Henry Kissinger; Andrew Krepinevich; Dave McCurdy; Frank Miller; Gen. (Ret) Pete Pace; William Perry; James Schlesinger; Sarah Sewall; Wendy Sherman; Marin Strmecki; Vin Weber; Gen. (Ret) Larry Welch.